The Pencil


The Pencil

 

I am wood.
I am lead.

I am nothing without a hand.

I do nothing without a hand.

I lie in wait for one to take

A chance in life,

To seek the un-tread path

To open the closed door,

To see the world beyond

I am the builder’s tool

I am the artist’s brush

I am the poet’s instrument

Yet I am nothing without a dream

A dream to drive the hand

A vision to release

A message to speak

I am wood

I am lead

Yet I can open

The world that lies within

The craftman’s hands

The artist’s brush

And the writer’s heart

November 15, 2010

2 thoughts on “The Pencil

Leave a Reply

