Frailty of Life


Life.

It seems so full at times and never ending.

But then in an instance that can all change.

Tonight, it was announced that a young woman of eighteen years was killed. She was a freshman in college and her first year. We started at the beginning of August and already had several major campus-wide events. It saddens me to think that such a young life can be snuffed out so easily. I am reminded that life is frail and that it can happen to anyone. A friend, a brother, a fellow classmate.

I will not tell you the whole ‘you don’t know when life is going end so live it to the fullest’ speech. We’ve all heard that but let’s think about what makes life precious for each of us. For me, it is having family and friends. Some of my friends are about to turn eighteen and have a year left in high school. Others, they are eighteen years old and first year freshman. They are learning how to survive at college and trying to get that paper done before Wednesday. To think one of them could die so suddenly is a sobering thought. It also reminds me to take time to sit with those I call friends and build memories with them.

Tonight, I am going to take a step back from everything and just breathe and think about everyone I care about. My sisters, my friends, and above all my family. I hope you do the same.

Live life,

          Poetria

One thought on “Frailty of Life

  1. David Guzman September 20, 2011 / 00:05

    I had a similar sobering moment a couple of months ago. I was working as an AmeriCorps member with Communities In Schools when one of my fellow members passed away after a boating accident. Personally, I entered a bit of a dark place for a while, but then was able to push forward after meeting her family, celebrating her life and sharing memories of her with friends.

    Nevertheless, it’s always incredibly hard to grasp life ending at such an early age, especially when it is a person that you know. But, like you said, I think it is an important reminder of the need to build memories and shared moments with others, given the precious time that we do have.

    Take Care, Poetria.

    -David

Leave a Reply

