The Race Of Life


Dear Reader,

As a college student who is coming close to the end of his college career, I share in the worry and concern of post college.

What am I going to do? What can I do? Is this really what I want to do? Will there be a job for me? What do I do?

This past weekend, my department hosted a panel discussion for alumni. I considered not going but my teacher said that they were having free breakfast so I went.

I am really glad that I did. I got food for my belly and food for my soul.

The panelists had two years of experience to forty years of experience. They all have successful jobs and at the top of their game.

And I’m sitting at the end of the table stuffing my face with a pastry because I feel like I am not measuring up to their skills or potential.

Then they started talking. They talked about where they came from (students offered internships which lead to full time jobs) and their struggles. Learning twitter, learning to code websites, and keeping up with social media.

The panel basically said the follow:

– learn everything you can
– embrace change
– get out of your comfort zone
– do the best you can and be happy with your best
– be active
– don’t compare yourself with your colleagues

The future doesn’t look so bleak or ominous after listening to the panelists. Some who were in my shoes only a two or three years ago.

I think the hardest thing for me will be not to compare myself to others. My path is my own. Only I can take it. Yeah, it might take me longer. It might be shorter than others. But it is the path I need to take.

Maybe you are in the same place as me or know someone who is. Encourage them. Sometimes they just need someone to listen while they vent pressure.

If you are in the same boat as me, the best thing I found is find good friends and find colleagues who are going to push you to the next level.

Leave a Reply

