Our Passing, Our Legacy


My internship has me archiving old videos to DVDs in a special events folder for the past few days. One of the folders includes a collection of past funerals.

As I burn the different videos, I listen to the things being said on the videos. The people often recall different events or experience with the person who passed away.
How one woman cooked dinners or how siblings remembered their brother.

It got me to thinking: how will I be remembered?

Will I be remembered for being helpful or someone who enjoyed singing? Will I be remembered for my actions or will I even be remembered at all?

It made me think about all the things that are said about the afterlife. Some say that you’ll just fade away. You will cease to exist on any level. Others say we get a fast track to heaven where everything is happy and nice. However, it is also said that if you are a bad person you’ll go to the hot place.

Theology aside, I think we need to act to be remembered.

And yes, the whole “I am not important. No one will remember me” is a familiar line.

But guess what? You will be remembered.

A few years ago I was going through a rough spot in life. A fellow college student mentioned, offhand, that I stopped smiling. I hadn’t realized it until she mentioned it. Someone who I did talk to in any personal level had noticed my personal behavior and habits.

So yes, you will be remembered.

It scars me a little to think that we can have such a profound influence on the people around us. A word of hello can make their day or with a word that could tear their world down to the ground.

I like to think that I will be remembered for being a hard worker and a good friend.

So, how will you be remembered? How do you want to be remembered?

Leave a Reply

