Last Summer


high plan in blue sky

My last summer of college is nearly done and things have not gone according to my plan. But that is okay. It’s life.

My internship is almost done and I have learned a ton. Probably forgot some too but it’ll all come back to me, right? I hope.

But right now I feel like my dreams are way up in the sky. I have this idea of how I want my life to turn out—find love and leave a mark behind—but it is way up in the sky. I can see it but I have no idea how to touch it.

The main thing that is filling my mind is what I want to do with my life post college. Do I want to get a job in media? Yes? Then what field do I want to go in? If not, then where do I want to go?

The one thing that I notice is there are a lot of people who are working and giving up their hobbies. There are others who live to work instead of working to live.

I really don’t want to end up like that.

I know I need to make money in order to pay bills and such.

But I also want to keep up with what I love to do: writing and photography. I do not know how I am going to do it but I will.

What is the point of living if you can’t do the things you love? Right?

In time, I may have more stuff that I love to do or my hobbies will change. The point is, I want to make time for them.

Again, I could just make a living off of doing photography or writing. It is a completely legitimate plan for life. In the meantime, I got to eat.

So now I have a challenge.

What job will I get in order to allow time for my hobbies but also let me eat, pay bills, and eat more than Ramon noodles.

Another problem arising is that I might get too focused on the job and I forget what I love to do until I am seventy. Which is something I really don’t want to do. I want to work in order to live life. Not live to work.

So that is my goal right now.

Find a job that helps me pay student loans, live, and eat. But a job that also lets me enjoy life and do what I love to do.

sun setting on a football field

Leave a Reply

