Fathers and Examples


Last night I was invited to a friend’s house to play Settlers of Catan (awesome game by the way). I decided to cut through campus to make my route shorter.

I walked past the football practice field where I notice a man on his phone. He was face timing someone and he was wearing the uniform of a coach. I didn’t know at first but as I walked past, the person he was talking to was his son. It struck me how awesome that this coach, among the hustle and bustle of the season, made time to see and talk to his child. The child had a bed time much earlier than when he would be able to go home.

I couldn’t help but think what an excellent example for all men to follow and emulate.

It also made me think about my own father and how lucky I am.

The world is full of men who failed to be the father their child needed to be. For whatever reason, it just did not happen.

My own father made mistakes and did not follow the best plan but he was there to help me raise the seat of my first bike. On Christmas day, he would be downstairs bright and early because his seven year old kid couldn’t wait to 7:30a.m. to tear into presents.

As I got older, he taught me the value of work and how to stay on focus with tasks that I was bored with.

Both of these men are examples to follow and I hope to follow one day.

Leave a Reply

