A New Year, A New Journey


Greetings!

The new year has begun. Some of you will be students finishing high school, others will be getting their college degree. Some will be joining hands in marriage.

For me, this will be the end of a long college journey. I will be finishing my undergrad in May and beginning a new journey: life.

I have not considered what I will do after college or even what my life will look like. But I do know this, it will be full of twists and turns that I will not see. Surprises that will thrill me and moments where I will wonder what I am doing.

The biggest thing that I have learn is that I tend to overthink and worry about the future far too much. As Qui-Gon Jinn said to think about the future “but not at the expense of the present.”

As my girlfriend said, I need to direct that energy into something more constructive than worry.

What I have realized this past year is life is like a mighty river. It roars along at points and at others the flow is little faster than a walk. You can look down the river and see hints of what is to come but you never know for sure. You can fight the current but the battle will steal away what beautiful sights along the path. You can direct your path by choosing which fork in the river you can take.

So here is to diving into the river and flow along life. I can’t wait to see what this year brings.

Leave a Reply

