First Day, Last Semester


Right this very moment I am sitting in a classroom and meeting a new teacher.

Today will be the first day of my last semester. I have mixed feelings about it. I am excited to finally get my degree and enter the next stage of life. At the same time I will be leaving the familiar and well walked path of college. I will leave the safety and comfort of being in class and knowing what to expect each semester (classes, homework, and late nights working on projects).

I don’t know what to expect now.

I know it will be different and it will be filled with the joys of success and marked by set backs. But overall, I am excited to walk this path. I have grown much since last year. I still have a ways to go but I am looking forward to it.

For the students who are just beginning: stay true to who you are. Keep your focus.

Staying true to you means knowing who you want to become. It is difficult for some, easy for others. Yet each person’s journey is unique to that person. Surround yourself by the people who you want to become, because that is who you will become. Study first, play later but make time to rest your mind. You are here to study, not get your MR. or MRS. degree.

For the students who are just ending: we can make it. Now is our time.

We have taken a long time to get to where we are. We only have a little more to go. We can finish strong. It is time to put doubt aside and step forward. Our journey may yet be covered in fog but we must trust to what we have learned. No longer will we be looking to others and their actions. It is our time to make the choices. Let us learn from history so we do not repeat it.

Good luck!

Leave a Reply

