Where Home Is


The smell of wood smoke upon the air
Mixed with the smell of birch and evergreen
The cold wind nipping at skin
The golden leaves blazing in the dusk light
That is what I call home

The sky painted orange and purple
The leaves crunching underneath
My breath hanging in the air
And the sound of the wind in the trees
This is what I call home

If home is where the heart is
Then my home is far away
Along the mountainside
Where the forest lies
And the sky is pure
That is where my home is

Where the stars are thousands strong
Where the moon is clear and pure
Where wolves sing and hawks cry
Where the deer passes and northern lights dance
There my heart lies

One day I shall return to my home
One day I shall go where my heart is
Until then I shall dream of it

Leave a Reply

