Stories


Just finished watching two movies on YouTube: Removed and Remember My Story: Removed Part 2. In short, it is a small story about an older child who goes through the so-called “system”. It made me think about all the kids living in foster homes and orphanages. From the Americas to the Far East and everywhere in between, there are thousands of children whose lives have been turned upside down.

Some have been abandoned or death has taken their parents. Others are removed because their legal guardians are a threat to them.

But what do we do?

I am not sure what the answer is. Not everyone is suited to be a caregiver for a child, and that’s not a bad thing.

What is a bad thing is the fact that these kids are hurting. Maybe this strikes a cord with me since I am an orphan. And I was very lucky being adopted as young as I was. However, kids who are older are not as “attractive” so they are not as likely to be adopted. And this adds to the emotional baggage they are carrying. And I don’t want people to adopt or become stewards just to make themselves feel better. That does nothing for the child involved.

I could sit here and type away why this situation is horrible and try to make you feel guilty about it. But that won’t do anything to help them.

Instead, I want you to take a moment to think about them. They are unseen and unheard. You could meet with one today and you may never know. So be kind and be a good model. Reach out and show true love and kindness.

Oh, and watch the movies:

Removed
Remember My Story: Removed Part 2

Leave a Reply

