Year’s End


2016.

These four digits can invoke some pretty strong response, depending on who you are. For some, it is passing of many well known and loved actors and actresses. For others, they see it as the beginning of the end of the United States.

For me, these four digits bring to mind the attacks by terrorists and the dirt tossing by politicians. Of political correctness gone out of control. To see the country I swore allegiance to twist and writhe because her leaders have forgotten their purpose.

Regardless of personal belief, 2016 has been a pretty rough year for a lot of people.

But what about 2017? Do we go into it with fear or hope? I look back on this year, past the dark stories and the worries of the future. I see the good things that have happened. Family, friends, and growth. And in my case, the birth of a niece.

Because of the good things, I will enter 2017 with hope.

Yes, my life isn’t where I thought it would be when I left college. No, I haven’t made it big yet. But I have clothes on my back and food in my belly.

In the past few days, I have realized that my hope and trust have been in my own hands. And let me tell you, my hands are not able to handle it. So my trust will be put into God.

And yes, many of you might be think that is foolish or naive. But not me. I have seen His hands at work in my life. From protecting me from bad decisions and car accidents to bringing me healing when I needed it.

So goodbye 2016, I shall leave the past to lie in the past. To the future and the wonders of 2017!

 

Leave a Reply

