The Right Age


Recently, I finished reading the book Starfighters of Adumar: Star Wars Legends (X-Wing) by Aaron Allston.  A very good book in my opinion and I am a big fan of the series. I am also a fan of the Star Wars Expanded Universe– ignoring whether the stuff is canon or not.

In this particular Star Wars book, Allston wrote:

“…you’re always going to be too young for something important to you, too old for something else, and the timing is just not going to be right for a third set of things. That’s life, and you can make yourself crazy by dwelling on that. Or you can figure out what you are the right age for, and what the timing is right for, and celebrate those things. Where do you suppose happiness lies?” – Wedge

 

And he’s right.

Life is not always going to be set for the perfect moment.

For some things I have to wait for. I want a new computer. My own place. But things are not set up for that. I want to save money and go on these world class adventures but I am too young in the work field.

But right now I can go down the road and take photos of the train tracks. Or study the works of other photographers.

And that is where happiness lies. Not in having the best car or having the status. It is not wanting the job or the title. It is enjoying the moment. Not living for the moment but enjoying it. To notice the clouds above. To enjoy the company of friends.

Yes, have goals and dreams to chase. But don’t forget to live your life.

Leave a Reply

