Morning Star


The night is old
And the air is cold
A gentle wind
Stirs the treetops
I shiver in the breeze
As I leave for work

As I prepare to leave
I hear a whisper among the leaves
Among the trees and the weeds
I turn and look to see
What could be hidden among the green
But I see nothing in the darkness

Yet in my heart I can hear
A voiceless whisper
Beckoning me to come near
To leave the town behind
To wander beneath sky and bough
To vanish amongs the woods

I smile at the nearby woods
For though my heart lies among trees
My path wanders in concrete canyons
For though my feet tread on false stone
My heart wanders in the woods
Among the ash and oak

Leave a Reply

