Friday Thoughts: Life’s Achievements


When I was a wee lad of sixteen or so, I always assumed most people graduated from high school at 18, finish college in 4 years, and get married by the time they are 22 years old. Four years later and they are expecting their first kid.

As I wave goodbye at my mid-twenties, I have come to realize that these assumptions are wrong. Not everyone graduates high school at 18. Some wait decades, others have to earn their GED instead. There are dozens who are in their early thirties who are single, no kids, and still no game plan.

This realization made me think: where did this assumption come from in the first place? Who sat down and said “you must have graduated by this point and married by this other point. Or else you are a failure.”

I do not have the answer to this mysterious question. However, I do have some words of wisdom from a dear friend of mine: “You are on your own path. You cannot compare your journey to anyone else’s.”

In other words, your path is your path. You can use others to guide your way (or in my case, do a lot of praying) but you still have to walk it.

Leave a Reply

