Friday Thoughts: Moments


Good morning! It is Friday and we have made it through another week. Unless you are in a different time zone that results in a different day. Then I’ll just say good morning.

This past week, my coworker reminded me that I need to take each day one at a time. Not to plan out far into the future. My own devotions have stated that God has given me so much time to work with.

Despite whether you believe in God or you like to plan ahead, everyone has a limit to what they are able to handle. Some can handle more. Others are only able to handle less.

But here is the question that I encountered: is there a difference between “living in the moment” and “living for the moment”?

At first glance, there doesn’t seem to be any difference. However, I think there is a difference. A big one that can shape how one’s life unfolds.

Living in the Moment

I believe this means to focus on what is current. Whether that is living day by day or hour by hour, just work with what is immediate. It could mean working on a project that is due next week for work or school. Or it could mean focusing on your child’s dance recital instead of the tomorrow morning’s work meeting.

Instead of trying to figure out what is going to happen for Christmas or where I am going to be in five years, I focus on what I need to do now. I need to eat today. I need to check in on my friends. I also need to get a design done today.

Living in the Moment does not mean I am ignoring planning for the future. Just not taking on tomorrow’s worry.

I find living day by day helps reduce how much stress I have on my shoulders. This also helps me find the little things that make life enjoyable. A joke by a coworker or watching the sunrise as I commute. For me, these things is what makes life living.

Living for the Moment

It reminds me of the phrase “you only live once”. A phrase that implies just do whatever comes to mind because life is short and you only have one. This life plan strikes me as short term and short sighted. From my understanding, the idea is that you are looking for the thrill from one moment to the next. What gets you excited and that every day you are making it an adventure.

While that does sound fun and a joy, life doesn’t not unpack itself like that. Each day is full of responsibilities that need to be attended to. If you are always looking for just the fun, then you’ll forget to get your work done and life becomes difficult.

It also makes it hard to enjoy life.

If every day is an adventure, then you’ll need to find a bigger high every moment. Life has it dull moments and that’s okay.

Take Away

Enjoy your life and have your adventures. But not at the cost of your responsibilities or your sanity.

Leave a Reply

